About us

Limburge agriculture and horticulture is an important economic spearhead. On about 90 000 ha of agricultural land, nearly 3 000 farmers and horticulturists actively provide direct and indirect employment for 8 000 people. 

Employees

Sander Palmans

Coordinator

Marijke Gijbels

Deputy coordinator and researcher crop production and B3W

Lore Luys

Researcher crop production and B3W

Shana Clercx

Crop production researcher

Stef Keppens

Crop production and livestock researcher

Monique Schuurman

Pig farming researcher

Saskia Leplat

Pig farming researcher

Ellen Goorman

Technical responsible pigs, Driving instructor G licence

Chris Mertens

Volunteer

Rob Ramaekers

School farm manager

Sven Schrooten

Driving instructor G licence, stagementor mechanisation and Technical in charge of crop production

Jef Gorssen

Driving instructor G-driving licence and stagementor cattle farming

Word from the chairman

Over ons Inge Moors

Inge Moors - Deputy

Limburge agriculture and horticulture is an important economic spearhead. On about 90 000 ha of agricultural land, almost 3 000 farmers and horticulturists actively provide direct and indirect employment for 8 000 people. Food production is an essential part of the agricultural business complex and provides additional economic activities in the supply chain and in marketing and processing. Employment created throughout the chain amounts to more than 20 500 FTEs.

In terms of food production, strong livestock farming, mainly dairy cattle, pig and poultry farming, is present in the north and northeast of the province. With an annual production value of about 320 million euros, intensive livestock farming has a significant share in the total economic value of Limburg agriculture and horticulture.

In order to perpetuate and even strengthen the economic value of livestock farming, it is essential to anticipate changing market conditions, including the abolition of milk quotas, stricter sanitary requirements, new social expectations regarding animal welfare, etc. Moreover, livestock farmers are faced with additional challenges such as feed conversion and their own cultivation of fodder crops. Sustainable and innovative entrepreneurship are the best answer to ensure the future of Limburg's livestock, pig and poultry farming.

To support farmers and horticulturists in this, practice-oriented research plays a very important role. With PVL in Bocholt, Limburg has a strong practice-oriented research centre for livestock and pig farming.

Through research projects and a strong demonstration operation, Limburg livestock farmers are advised and guided in their pursuit of more sustainable and innovative agriculture and horticulture. The province of Limburg has been a structural partner of PVL for many years and will support the further development of this provincial practical centre in the future. In this way, the provincial agricultural policy makes an important contribution to maintaining and strengthening economically profitable agriculture and horticulture and to innovative and sustainable agricultural entrepreneurship in Limburg.

Get in touch

Contact Us

A propos de nous

L'agriculture et l'horticulture limbourgeoises constituent un important fer de lance économique. Sur environ 90 000 ha de terres agricoles, près de 3 000 agriculteurs et horticulteurs fournissent activement des emplois directs et indirects à 8 000 personnes. 

Salariés

Sander Palmans

Coordinateur

Marijke Gijbels

Coordinateur adjoint et chercheur Production végétale et B3W

Lore Luys

Chercheur production végétale et B3W

Shana Clercx

Chercheur en production végétale

Stef Keppens

Chercheur en production végétale et en élevage

Monique Schuurman

Chercheur en élevage de porcs

Saskia Leplat

Chercheur en élevage de porcs

Ellen Goorman

Responsable technique porcs, Permis G de moniteur d'auto-école

Chris Mertens

Bénévole

Rob Ramaekers

Gestionnaire d'une ferme-école

Sven Schrooten

Permis G de moniteur d'auto-école, gestion ou mécanisation et responsable technique de la production végétale.

Jef Gorssen

Permis de conduire G et gestion de l'élevage bovin

Mot du président

Over ons Inge Moors

Inge Moors - Adjointe

L'agriculture et l'horticulture limbourgeoises constituent un important fer de lance économique. Sur environ 90 000 ha de terres agricoles, près de 3 000 agriculteurs et horticulteurs fournissent activement des emplois directs et indirects à 8 000 personnes. La production alimentaire est un élément essentiel du complexe d'entreprises agricoles et génère des activités économiques supplémentaires dans la chaîne d'approvisionnement, la commercialisation et la transformation. Les emplois créés tout au long de la chaîne s'élèvent à plus de 20 500 ETP.

En termes de production alimentaire, l'élevage intensif, principalement de bovins laitiers, de porcs et de volailles, est présent dans le nord et le nord-est de la province. Avec une valeur de production annuelle d'environ 320 millions d'euros, l'élevage intensif représente une part importante de la valeur économique totale de l'agriculture et de l'horticulture limbourgeoises.

Pour pérenniser, voire renforcer la valeur économique de l'élevage, il est essentiel d'anticiper l'évolution des conditions du marché : suppression des quotas laitiers, exigences sanitaires plus strictes, nouvelles attentes sociales en matière de bien-être des animaux, etc. L'esprit d'entreprise durable et innovant est la meilleure réponse pour assurer l'avenir de l'élevage de bétail, de porcs et de volailles dans le Limbourg.

Pour aider les agriculteurs et les horticulteurs dans cette tâche, la recherche orientée vers la pratique joue un rôle très important. Avec le PVL de Bocholt, le Limbourg dispose d'un centre de recherche orienté vers la pratique pour l'élevage de bétail et de porcs.

Grâce à des projets de recherche et à une solide opération de démonstration, les éleveurs limbourgeois sont conseillés et guidés dans leur quête d'une agriculture et d'une horticulture plus durables et plus innovantes. La province du Limbourg est un partenaire structurel de PVL depuis de nombreuses années et soutiendra à l'avenir le développement de ce centre pratique provincial. La politique agricole provinciale contribue ainsi de manière importante au maintien et au renforcement d'une agriculture et d'une horticulture économiquement rentables et d'un entrepreneuriat agricole innovant et durable dans le Limbourg.

Prendre contact

Nous contacter